Sign In

The Heroes

Conservation Heroes​​

Around the world people are fascinated with wild animals and wild places. An Indianapolis Prize Hero is someone who has lived in the wild, been shot at by poachers, spent tireless days and weeks in the blazing heat, freezing temperatures, tropical downpours, and all the while remaining champions for their cause. They are committed to saving the endangered animals of our planet.

The winners, finalists and nominees of the Indianapolis Prize are extraordinary conservationists whose contributions to animal conservation efforts have resu​​​lted in the long-term sustainability of an animal species or group of species.

Meet the heroes of our plant and learn what it takes to be a hero by clicking on the links located on the left side of this page.

Winners of the Indianapolis Prize


​​​Professor Carl Jones, Chief Scientist for Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust and Scientific Director for the Mauritian Wildlife Foundation, received the 2016 award for his momentous​ victories saving species and restoring ecosystems.


Dr. Patricia C. Wright, a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Anthropology at Stony Brook University, was awarded for her work saving lemurs in Madagascar.


Dr. Steven Amstrup, of Polar Bears International, received the Indianapolis Prize for his field work and research that lead the U.S. to declare polar bears as threatened under the U.S. Endangered Species Act.


Dr. Iain Douglas-Hamilton, world's pre-eminent elephant researcher, Founder and President of Save the Elephants.


Dr. George Schaller, the world's pre-eminent field biologist and vice president of science and exploration for the Wildlife Conservation Society.


Dr. George Archibald, co-found of the International Crane Foundation and one of the world's greatest field biologists.



Photograph courtesy of Jackie Curts